ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2021 Minutes of the AGM held via Zoom on Friday 9 April 2021, at 6 pm

In the Chair

Dr Hannah Fry - President

Present

Mr Tom Roper – Chair of Council Dr Paul Harris – Secretary Mr David Miles – Treasurer

Staff in attendance

Sandi Atkinson – Executive Officer Alice Hall – Challenges & Membership Officer

Members of the Association (63). There were sufficient members present to be quorate. Those present were reminded that only current members of the Association were permitted to vote.

1. Welcome by the President, Dr Hannah Fry

- 1.1. The President welcomed everyone to the 2021 Annual General Meeting and thanked all those for their continuing work on behalf of The Mathematical Association.
- 1.2. Dr Fry then went on the explain how the online voting would be conducted using the polling function within Zoom and ran a successful test poll to ensure everyone could participate.
- 2. The AGM received the report of the Council from its Chair, Tom Roper.
 - 2.1 Dr Fry invited Tom Roper as Chair of Council to present his report to the meeting.
 - 2.2 The Chair highlighted 2021 as a very special 150th anniversary year and despite the challenges posed by the pandemic reassured members that we are taking the opportunity to do things differently beginning with the conference which had attracted over 1,000 delegates. He went on to outline some of the more significate changes that had taken place since the last AGM, noting the successful progress we are seeing with the appointment of an Executive Officer.
 - 2.3 The Chair touched on the impact on the MA's finances of the pandemic and gave an update on the ongoing amalgamation discussions. He closed by giving thanks on behalf of the MA to Dr Ems Lord, now Immediate Past President, whose contribution whilst in office had been outstanding and he expressed his own personal hope that Dr Lord would continue to be involved with the MA in some capacity in the future.
- 3 The report of the Treasurer, David Miles.

- 3.1 The 2020 independent examination report and financial statements had been made available to MA members via email.
 - 3.1.1 Main points highlighted by the Treasurer in his report were;
 - 3.1.1.1 the impact of the pandemic on the MA's already struggling finances. Both income and expenditure were down in 2020 but the result was a deficit of £99.967.
 - 3.1.1.2 the advantage taken of the government's pandemic support for business through the procurement of a £50,000 'bounce back loan',
 - 3.1.1.3 swift improvements can now be made due to the acquisition of an accountant, we now have reliable and detailed financial information where we did not previously,
 - 3.1.1.4 steps the MA will be taking to address the deficit.
 - 3.1.2 The 2020 independently examined accounts were received and accepted by the members.

3.2 Nomination of the Independent Examiners for 2021

3.2.1 The Treasurer presented a case to change independent examiners from UHY to CAPlus for 2021. CAPlus work with over 500 charitable, voluntary and non-profit organisations and have quoted almost 50% less than UHY to carry out the independent examination for 2021. The Treasurer proposed the move to appoint CAPlus as independent examiners for the MA for 2021. This motion was seconded by Tom Roper and the motion was carried nem. con.

4 Election of Officers and other Members of Council

4.1 The election of the President for 2021-2022

Dr Fry was pleased to confirm that Dr Chris Pritchard is now the President of the MA and passed on her congratulations.

The election of the President for 2022–2023

Dr Fry also confirmed the new President Designate to be Dr Colin Foster who will be the President for 2022–2023.

4.2 Nominated by the Council for election:

Dr Fry informed those present of the elected members of Council. All positions were unopposed and so no vote was required.

Chair of Council Tom Roper
Secretary Paul Harris
Treasurer David Miles
Chair of Branches Lucinda Hamill
Chair of Conferences Cherri Moseley

Chair of Membership
Chair of Professional Development
Chair of Publicity and Media
Chair of Publications
Chair of Teaching Committee
Editor in Chief

Jemma Sherwood Sue Southward Jo Morgan Jill Trinder Drew Foster Bill Richardson

4.3 Members without Office:

With no new Members Without Office joining Council Dr Fry confirmed the list of existing members.

Steve Abbott continues in his first term of 3 years, with 2 years left to serve. Stella Dudzic continues in her first term of 3 years, with 2 years left to serve. Elizabeth Glaister continues in her second term with 2 years left to serve. Gerry Leversha continues in his second term with 2 years left to serve. Bobby Seagull continues in his first term of 3 years with 1 year left to serve. Ed Southall continues in his first term of 3 years, with 1 year left to serve. Nick Wilson continues in his first term of 3 years, with 2 years left to serve.

5. Matters arising from the Annual General Meeting 2020.

There were no matters arising.

- 6. Any other business.
- 6.1 None received.
- 6.2 With no further business to transact Dr Hannah Fry thanked everyone for attending the AGM.

The meeting closed at 6.53 pm.